Cruise Fashion Blog

All the latest fashion news from Cruise

The Open Golf Championship 2016


Next week sees the start of the 145th Open Championship, the third of the major golf tournament of the year. The Open is the oldest major golf tournament in the world, and is being held at Royal Troon Golf Club, in Ayrshire, Scotland.

Last year's rain effected tournament held at St Andrews saw victory claimed by American Zach Johnson who won a playoff against South African Louis Oosthuizen, and Australian Marc Leishman after all 3 men had finished on 15 under par.

There will be a 156 strong field of competitors taking to the fairways and greens, with the winner of the tournament picking up the famous Claret Jug and a cool £1.2 million, which is in stark contrast to the first ever tournament in 1860 when Scotsman Willie Park Snr took home no monetary prize at all (just the Challenge Belt). In fact it wasn’t until 5 years later that Tom Morris Snr took home the lofty sum of £6.

As well as last year’s winner, Zach Johnson, the field features both winners from the years previous 2 majors – US Open winner Dustin Johnson (no relation to Zach), and Englishman Danny Willett, who won the Masters back in April, as well as the World Number 1 Australian Jason Day.

Fans packing the course hoping for a British or Irish winner come Sunday will have their hopes raised by the fact that there have been 9 winners in the last 30 years.


This will be the ninth time that Troon has hosted The Open stretching back to 1923 with Englishman Arthur Havers emerged victorious. It must be noted that the last 6 winners of the tournament held here have been American.

Royal Troon is home to both the longest and shortest holes in Open Championship golf. Regarded as one of the top holes in the world, the par-3 8th hole (Postage Stamp) measures a scant 123 yards (112 m), but its diminutive green measures a mere 420 square feet (39 m2). Two holes earlier, the par-5 6th (Turnberry) extends to a lengthy 601 yards (550 m).

The Holes Of Royal Troon


Hole Name Yards / Par
1 Seal 370 Yards / Par 4
2 Black Rock 391 Yards / Par 4
3 Gyaws 379 Yards / Par 4
4 Dunure 560 Yards / Par 5
5 Greenan 210 Yards / Par 3
6 Turnberry 601 Yards / Par 5
7 Tel-el-Kebir 405 Yards / Par 4
8 Postage Stamp 123 Yards / Par 3
9 The Monk 423 Yards / Par 4


Hole Name Yards / Par
10 Sandhills 438 Yards / Par 4
11 The Railway 490 Yards / Par 4
12 The Fox 431 Yards / Par 4
13 Burmah 472 Yards / Par 4
14 Alton 178 Yards / Par 3
15 Crosbie 483 Yards / Par 4
16 Well 542 Yards / Par 5
17 Rabbit 222 Yards / Par 3
18 Craigend 457 Yards / Par 4

Total yards - 7175 – Par 71

For more information or up-to-date scores when the tournament starts please head on over to The Open's website here.